800-647-3344 Contact us
x

News

November 2019

Die Feiertage sind wieder vorbei. Sie waren wunderbar! So viel Zeit mit der Familie, Zeit, sich in der Synagoge im Gebet zu freuen, umgeben von Nachbarn und Freunden. Ich danke Gott, dass er mich mit so vielen wunderbaren Menschen in meiner Ortschaft gesegnet hat.

Als ich mich an Rosh HaSchana umsah, bemerkte ich, dass sich etwas geändert hatte. Wir sind alle älter geworden. Immer mehr der Frauen, die mich in der Synagoge umgeben, sind entweder selbst älter und schwächer geworden oder sie haben Mütter aufgenommen, die älter und schwächer waren. Meine Eltern sind seit vielen Jahren in den Ferien bei uns, aber seit einiger Zeit kommt mein Vater im Rollstuhl in die Synagoge und meine Mutter geht viel langsamer als früher.

Am Ende meiner Reihe standen eine Frau in meinem Alter und ihre Mutter. Beide sind schon lange Mitglieder unserer Synagoge, aber heute wirkte ihre Mutter plötzlich so viel älter. Sie ist eine Überlebende des Holocaust und bat darum, in diesem Jahr in der ersten Reihe zu sitzen – etwas, was sie noch nie zuvor getan hatte. Es schien, als wollte sie schon längere Zeit dort sitzen, hatte aber erst jetzt diesen Wunsch geäußert. Natürlich wollten wir alle, dass sie vorne sitzen konnte. Sie wurde von ihrer Enkelin zu ihrem neuen Platz begleitet, hatte aber nicht die Kraft, dort für den gesamten Gottesdienst bleiben.

Als ich in den Männerbereich hinunterblickte, erinnerte ich mich an einen wunderbaren Mann, der vor einigen Monaten gestorben ist. Er war schon über 90 Jahre alt und war auch Holocaustüberlebender. Er war bei einem bestimmten Teil der Gebete zu Jom Kippur, dem Tag der Buße, immer besonders laut. Wir haben ihn dieses Jahr vermisst.

Es war ein Segen, so viele Frauen und ihre Mütter und Großmütter in der Synagoge zu sehen. Aber es war auch traurig zu sehen, wie viele dieser wunderbaren Frauen schwächer, weniger ihr Umfeld wahrnehmend und abhängiger waren als früher. Unsere Gesellschaft ist eine Gesellschaft, die unsere älteren Menschen schätzt. Wir sind gespannt auf ihre Geschichten und lernen von ihrem Mut und den oft schwierigen Wege, die sie nach Israel führten. Wir schulden ihnen viel, denn sie sind die Generation, die das moderne Israel gegründet  und die Generation, die Hitler überlebt hat.

Wir möchten Ihnen gerne die Möglichkeit geben, den Männern und Frauen zu helfen, die die letzten Jahre ihres Lebens erreicht haben. Ich hoffe, dass Sie sich mir anschließen und ihnen helfen, diese Jahre in Würde zu verbringen, mit der Hilfe und der Zuwendung, die sie so sehr brauchen. Vielleicht möchten Sie in diesem Monat etwas spenden, um den älteren Menschen in Judäa und Samaria zu helfen. Ich danke Ihnen vielmals!

Mit herzlichen Grüßen,

Sondra Oster Baras

Director

Comments

Comments are closed.

800-647-3344 Contact us
x

News

Sb Nov 2019

The Jewish holidays are finally over.  They were wonderful!  So much time with family, time to rejoice in prayer in synagogue, surrounded by neighbors and friends.  I thank G-d that He has blessed me with so many wonderful people who make up my community and my world.

As I looked around me on Rosh HaShanah, I noticed that something had changed. We had all become older.  More and more of the women who surround me in the synagogue have either become older and more feeble themselves or they were hosting mothers who were older and more feeble. My parents have been joining us for the holidays for many years now but they are definitely older today.  My father comes to the synagogue in a wheel-chair and my mother is walking a lot slower than before. 

At the end of my row was a woman my age and her mother.  Both are members of our synagogue for a long time but today her mother suddenly seemed so much older.  She is a Holocaust survivor and she asked to be seated in the front row this year – something she had never done before.  It seemed she had wanted to sit there for some time but had only now voiced that preference.  Of course, we were all eager to accommodate her.  She was helped to her seat by her grand-daughter and was not able to stay for the entire service.  But she came.

As I looked down into the men’s section, I remembered a wonderful man who passed away a few months ago.  He was in his 90’s and was a Holocaust survivor as well.  He was always particularly loud at a certain part of the prayers on Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement.  We missed him this year.

It was a blessing to see so many women and their mothers and grandmothers in synagogue.  But it was also sad to see how many of these wonderful women were weaker, less aware of their surroundings, more dependent than they had ever been before.  Ours is a society that treasures our elderly.  We are eager to hear their stories and learn from their courage and the often difficult journeys that brought them to Israel.  But we also owe them a huge debt. They are the generation that established modern Israel.  They are the generation that survived Hitler. 

From now through the end of the year, we will be giving you the opportunity to help the men and women who have reached the final years of their lives.  In addition to this month’s Har Gilo security project, will you donate a little extra this month to help the senior citizens of Judea and Samaria?  Thank you so much for caring for our beloved elderly citizens.

Sincerely,

Sondra Oster Baras

Director, Israel Office

P.S. I hope you enjoy reading the enclosed Heartland Stories. Because of generous donors like you Argaman was able to revitalize the entrance to their community and bless their Senior Citizens.  Thank you for connecting with the pioneering spirit in Argaman and making their dreams become reality.  I am asking you to join me this month and help Senior Citizens in Judea and Samaria, live out their final years in comfort, with the assistance and the stimulation they need so much.   Thank you for supporting the Seniors of Judea and Samaria.

Comments

Comments are closed.